Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This follows from my previous post on the cheongsam I have made for my girls.  This post will feature Kagura, my DD.

Since DD is a ball-jointed doll or BJD designed in anime style, I have given her cheongsam some design elements usually found in anime/manga: super mini skirt, fitting outfit and frills.  Here she is.

Kagura in mini yellow cheongsam

I have picked a bright yellow fabric, an auspicious colour to wear for Lunar New Year and a dull orange binding for contrast.  To get a better measurement for the paper pattern, I followed the pattern drafting instructions in Dollybird vol 15.  There are plenty of photos so it’s still easy to follow even though my Japanese is limited.  Kagura was very patient too standing there wrapped up in layers of plastic wrap while I pinned paper onto her body.

Kagura in mini yellow cheongsam

After getting the paper pattern from this method, I proceeded to make a prototype and adjusted the paper pattern further.  Finally, this is the outcome:

Kagura in mini yellow cheongsam

I would say I’m very pleased with the fit of the bodice (Kagura is using her M bust here) and the collar turned out quite well.  But I have to make adjustments to the front darts and the hip fitting.  DD has a tiny waist compared to her bust and hip.  So I need to consider how to adjust it so that the bodice fit will flow smoothly down to the waist and to the hip.  Currently for this piece, there are two creases on the sides of the waist.  It is more obvious in this photo.

Kagura in mini yellow cheongsam

For the Chinese knotted button used in cheongsam, I doubt I would be able to find any small ones which can fit into a DD dress.  Already it’s so difficult to find beautiful ones nowadays.  Mum used to make the buttons for the Chinese blouse she sewed for granny but since granny’s demise, she has forgotten how to make the buttons…but I have digressed…  (*^^*)

So I crocheted some small flower design using an orange yarn and sewed it on with golden bead and Viola!

Kagura in mini yellow cheongsam

Throw in a pair of thigh socks with lace and fur and roses on the hair, now doesn’t she look like one of the kawaii girls in the anime?

Kagura in mini yellow cheongsam

In black and white:

Kagura in bright yellow cheongsamKagura in bright yellow cheongsam

